International patent application PCT/FI96/00621 has already become a basis of many regional and national patents:

"Method for adaptive K-Filtering in dynamic systems"
Inventor: Lange, Antti A. I.


The invention is based on the use of the principles of Lange's Fast K-Filtering (FKF) for large process control, prediction or warning systems where other computing methods are either too slow or fail because of truncation errors. The invented method makes it possible to exploit the FKF method for dynamic multiparameter systems with large moving data-windows.

This new invention belongs to the patent family of already existing 50 patents from two previous international applications PCT/FI90/00122 and PCT/FI93/00192. It will extend the FKF patent coverage up to 100 countries and/or make it more difficult for competitors to circumvent the basic invention. The International Preliminary Examination (IPE) was successfully accomplished by the European Patent Office (EPO) on December 29, 1997, and EPO intends to grant the European patent as follows: Cover page, page 01, page 02, page 03, page 04, page 05, page 06, page 07, page 08, page 09, page 10, page 11, page 12, page 13, page 14, page 15, page 16, page 17, page 18, page 19, page 20.

The new patents are already in force or pending in the following countries:
Albania, Armenia, Austria, Australia, Azerbaijan,
Barbados, Belgium, Belarus, Benin, Bosnia, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Brazil,
Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Congo, Czech Republic,
Finland, France,
Gabon, Georgia, Germany, Guinea, Greece,
Israel, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Ivory Coast,
Kazakstan, Kenya, Korea, Korea, People's Republic of, Kyrgyzstan,
Latvia, Lesotho, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxemburg,
Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mexico, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia,
Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Norway,
Poland, Portugal,
Romania, Russian Federation,
Senegal, Singapore, Slovenia, Slovakia, Spain, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland,
Tajikistan, Togo, Turkey, Turkmenistan,
Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uzbekistan,

Each national or regional entry comprises at least the following procedures:
1) Translation of the 19 pages of the PCT/FI96/00621 application;
2) Nomination and authorization of a national patent agent (or an address for service);
3) Paying fees for the national filing (and possibly later for patent examination);
4) Paying annual fees;
5) Translations of some originally filed uncorrected pages and other related information are often required.

All details of the national entry procedures can be found in National Annexes to the PCT Applicant's Guide (Volume II) . You will there need an Acrobat Reader for PDF file viewing of the National Annexes but you can download it free of charge by clicking Adobe Acrobat. For increasing number of languages free AltaVista translations are available in real-time. You can also find the patent description as an html file that can be translated automatically.

If you can offer any sort of help for any of the listed countries please let us know about it soonest possible by E-mailing to: In this way by using the Internet we can make concerted worldwide arrangements and avoid neglecting any country accidentally.

* Last revised: Oct. 10, 2002